Froth House

Hello blogosphere! I couldn’t stay away!  Over the summer when I went back home to Milwaukee, I realized I missed Madison and the blog oh-so much.  When the fall semester started, well, life got in the way… but I’m back!

ImageI’ll get right to it then.  This semester I’ve been trying out new study spots every week so on Sunday I decided to venture in the opposite direction of the capitol and headed to Froth House on Allen St. right off of Regent.

It’s a pretty adorable place, I gotta say.  When I first got there I was originally annoyed because they have a $5 minimum if you pay with card. Yes, it’s easy to spend five dollars, but I’m poor. I just wanted a strawberry muffin for $3.43. Oh well.  Eventually I caved and got some roasted red pepper and tomato soup along with the muffin.   I was thrown off when the cashier handed me my receipt which requested a tip.  I didn’t know heating up a bowl of soup justified a tip but I gave one anyway, so between the muffin and soup I was set back roughly $10.  The soup came with little bits of bread and was actually pretty good, except it got cold unusually fast.

The cafe is divided into two rooms.  The tables and chairs are an odd assortment of mismatched garage sale-like furniture, but I like it.  It gave the place character.  There was an old looking piano in the corner and what looked like a stage area for live music. Because it was a little off-campus, the coffee-dwellers included grad students and non-UW adults (which is always exciting to see, I feel I am always surrounded by undergrads).  At one point the room I was in consisted entirely of students studying alone, so it was nice and quiet with the exception of the music playing in the background.

I stayed for a few hours, ate my soup, and studied for an upcoming exam.  The music was a nice mix of mellow singer-songwriter stuff with some Irish thrown in everyImage once in a while, which I love.  I would have stayed all day if I didn’t have other plans.

From their Facebook page it looks like they often have live music and movie nights, so I would like to go back for that. Otherwise I would definitely recommend it if you need a new place to study!

-SH

*sidenote: sorry my dumbphone takes awful pictures*

Leave a comment