Brocach Irish Pub and Restaurant

Brocach1Whether it’s corned beef and cabbage or Shepherd’s Pie, Brocach is the ultimate Irish-food fix. An Irish pub on the Square, Brocach was a bustling place when I arrived on an ordinary Friday evening – I can’t imagine how busy it must be on St. Patrick’s Day! I ordered the classic Friday night fish fry ($13), which I discovered was featured in Madison Magazine in March from Brocach’s Facebook page. Needless to say, the fish was delicious! I’ve also had their Black Bean Burger (I’m starting to realize how often I eat them after blogging each week…), which is one of a few yummy vegetarian options! They also offer a vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie, in addition to a vegan Coconut Curry – be sure to check out the menus on their website.

Also, it’s not surprising to hear they offer a daily 3-hour happy ‘hour,’ with specials on scotches and Irish whiskeys, wines and others. I figure there’s no harm in mentioning it, though!

It’s somewhat strange how much more I found out about Brocach from their Facebook page and website than I did at the actual restaurant. Had I not researched them, I wouldn’t have known about their Trivia Nights or their Saturday and Sunday brunch. In addition, the website says they were voted one of the Top Ten Irish Pubs in America by The Huffingtion Post. It goes to show there is more to a restaurant than the on-site (and by this I don’t mean online!) experience. However, I encourage you still go – virtual food just doesn’t really cut it. At least for now.

While the menu is a bit pricey and it’s a tad noisy at the restaurant, it’s certainly a jovial place with quality food. A good place for dinner and drinks with friends or family!

Happy dining,

S.A.

Leave a comment